November 18, 2013 (week 10)

Boa Tarde!!

Holy moly was this week exciting!! I have so much to say and so little time! My week was amazing. I had so many cool spiritual experiences.

First off – I’m getting transfered so this is my last day in this area which I’m not sure how I feel about it. At first I felt like I must have done something wrong –  idk. My companion is super glad to be rid of me. She told me several times that she didn’t like this transfer or me. But I chose not to let this bother me and we continued to have fun and teach the gospel.

So one of my favorite investigators right now is Jarlene. She is a gem and definitly ready for the gospel. We taught her about the law of chastity and the Book of Mormon. We had her read the promise in Moroni 10. On our second visit we showed her the restoration video and after she goes ´Oh yeah, it says all that in the introduction.´ We were shocked, haha. She goes on to tell us that she had read all of Moroni 10 and the introduction, prayed about it and knew what we were teaching her was true! It was so awesome. The only thing she needs is to be officially married. I hope her spouse feels the same importance of marriage so she can get baptized.

Casamento is actually a big problem is this area. Everyone just lives together. (They call each other spouses and wear rings and everything.. its kind of confusing to know who is actually married or not.)

Another cool experience we had this week was with Igor. He is also a gem. He had a nativity in the front of his house so we stopped and asked if we could sing him a Christmas song. He agreed and we ended up teaching him the restoration. It was so cool to see the spirit touch him. At points he started to cry and really seemed to desire to learn more.

One of our investigators is interesting, haha. I don’t even really know how to describe him and do it justice. Lets just say he generally dirty and sad. We found him on the side of the road ready to commit suicide. We taught him the plan of salvation. Because we were near the chapel we walked him over and showed him the baptismal font and talked to him about how he can have a new life and that God loves him and wants to help me. We’ve continued to teach him and he came to church this week. I learned an important lesson from him this week. Everyone is a child of God. It doesn’t matter who you are, where youre from, God is your father and he loves you. I have no right to choose who gets the gospel and who doesn’t. I made a new goal to talk to everyone I can because they’re family. If they don’t accept it’s not because I didn’t try. Idk, it just made the idea of missionary work easier and more important.

Thats all the experiences I can think of right now. I forgot to bring my journal with me to help me remember. I wish that I could be here to see these people get baptized that I’m helping progress. Thus is the life of a missionary right? haha

So my companion was having a hard time this week with feeling like her prayers aren’t answered or not in the way that she asked and it got me thinking about the will of the Lord and the fact that God has a plan for us. We have little control over our surroundings and the events that happen to us but we do have control over how we react and being willing to accept whatever the Lord knows we need which should be what we desire after. It was something that I decided to work on this week and I think that’s the reason that I had such a good week because I was willing to learn from my experiences and to be happy with whatever happened. This week really wasn’t super productive number wise. We didnt have any baptisms and only had 1 investigator show up to church but I feel like is been one of the best weeks of my mission so far because I was open to experience it.

Love you all,

Sister Lawrence

Leave a Reply

