December 9th, 2013 (week 13)

Viviane and I - a member in the ward that's leaving on a mission on the 18th.  She goes tracting with us a lot.  (I'm constantly red haha)

Viviane and I – a member in the ward that’s leaving on a mission on the 18th. She goes tracting with us a lot. (I’m constantly red haha)

 

My hammock!!!!  I love it!  Also, where I study in the background.

My hammock!!!! I love it! Also, where I study in the background.

 

Oi!

Sorry for the scare last week mom. No my p-day didn’t change. It was just because of transfers. Also, my area isn’t that dangerous and we are really careful about where we go when. I’m really safe here. I emailed my mission president about Christmas.. I’ll let you know.

A little more about my area. It is extremely hot! We do have a lot of wind here though because of the ocean so sometimes it’s not to bad, especially in the shade. There is sand everywhere!! It’s really annoying because it gets in my shoes all day long. I’ve seen the beach a few times but it’s not in my area so only from a distance. The people are all extremely nice. They are so helpful with whatever we need. The food is actually really similar to what we eat in the states but made a little differently. We eat a lot of rice and beans and have tons of meat at every meal. I love the food here. My companion is great. She is super patient with me and we get along great. She talks a lot which is good and hard sometimes haha.

So we had a really good lesson with Joelson (he’s an alcoholic) this week. He had drank everyday all day. I get the feeling from him that he’s extremely lonely and has suffered a lot in his life. He doesn’t have many people in his life that care about him. I bore my testimony to him about the atonement and that there is a son of God who loves him. It definitely wasn’t me talking, but the spirit. Afterwards my companion said my Portuguese was perfect. It was an amazing experience. He hasn’t drank for 3 days now. I’m so proud of him. We can finally start teaching him doctrine because he’s coherent enough to understand us.

We are also teaching a boy named Elias. He’s 16 and really awesome. This week we were outside the church waiting for Emerson to show up and Elias walked by so we ended up talking with him. He had so many questions about the church and standards and about missions. He was asking questions like if I get baptised how long after can I serve a mission? You could tell that he had received an answer about baptism but hadn’t admitted it to himself yet.

So Saturday night the whole world could only meet us at 7pm so we ended up teaching 2 investigators at once. I thought the lesson went really well but after they started talking and I think they might influence each other with anti-mormon info. I’m worried for them and want to help them gain knowledge and a testimony about this church from people that know the truth. If anyone has advice or scriptures, whatever I’d love it.

Love you all!! Miss you!

Sister Lawrence

 

Leave a Reply

