February 26, 2014 (week 24)

My new companion (in pink) and Jessi (she tracks with us quite a bit).

My new companion (in pink) and Jessi (she tracks with us quite a bit).

A painting I did for the Relief Society Pres here. (don't worry, I only worked on it at nights--it didn't cut into the missionary work.)

A painting I did for the Relief Society Pres here. (don’t worry, I only worked on it at nights–it didn’t cut into the missionary work.)

 

Me and some youth in the ward.

Me and some youth in the ward.

Oi família,

So I’m staying in Cidade Verde for another transfer! Also my companion is staying the same. I have 6 more weeks to work in this wonderful area. I’ve spent almost 1/3 of my mission here. Can you believe it? Crazy.

I took my own advice about making things happen and trusting that God will help. (I don’t know of I wrote home about that or not but I’ve been thinking about it a lot.– we just sit around, or I do, and ask Heavenly Father to help with our lives but we dont start acting until we feel like weve received help but this isn’t how it works. We have to act to receive help.)

We have a baptism this Sunday for a girl named Camila. She is great! We found her in the street crying. I think I talked about her a bit already. It’s really funny with her. When we arrive and ask her to do something she is really wishwashy then we have a lesson and bear our testimonies to her, her whole countainance changes. For example, the other day we invited her to a baptism and she complained about how tired she was. Then we taught the restoration and she was like what time is the baptism? and what time are you going to pass by tomorrow for church?– it was pretty funny. She already has friends in the ward which helps a lot. Member missionary work really is super important.  People are so much firmer in the gospel when they have members helping them with every step of the conversion process.

In other news.. I fell really hard the other day and scraped up my leg. I’m okay dont worry. It was pretty funny actually and now the whole favela is talking about it.

Happy Birthday Bryce!!! Parabens!

Love you all!!

Sister Lawrence

Leave a Reply

