June 2, 2014 (week 38)

Paulo is standing next to me

Paulo is standing next to me

 

A friend I found im my bed the other day.... groossssss!!!!!!!!

A friend I found im my bed the other day…. groossssss!!!!!!!!

 

Hi,

So this week I had a really cool experience. Basically we´ve just been asking everyone to get baptized and have had success with people accepting but actually getting them to the baptism is the harder part. So a few weeks ago we did a contact by fire (asking someone to be baptized in a street contact) to 2 guys on the side of the street that were a little bit drunk. They agreed.. I don’t know if it was because they were drunk or if they really wanted to get baptized but anyways we ended up visiting them later and they were still really excited about it. One of them has been really hard to find at home because hes always working but the other one Gilson we taught all week and he went to church last week and loved it. This past week we continued to teach him and he accepted everything easily. He was marked to be baptized yesterday but Saturday afternoon he called and said that work called and he had to go but the problem was that he wouldn’t return until Monday. We were devastated when he said that because after all that work with him his baptism fell through. I realize that he will just get baptized this week but Satan’s going to be working really hard to stop it… I just hope Gilson has the forces to withstand.

After that phone call basically everything else on Saturday fell through. I was feeling really discouraged because we had worked all week to reach the standard of excellence (goals for the mission) and all of it was going to be stopped right at the very end. I felt like crying. So I decided to say a pray and ask Heavenly Father to help us out. I hadn’t lost faith but at that moment I needed a prove (I forgot how to say it in english) of my faith and a few words of encouragement. After I prayed I opened to scriptures and read a few verses that were exactly what I needed to hear. It was perfect. I love how the Lord knows what we need when we need it. So the rest of the night basically was done we had one more lesson.

Sunday morning we tried to get people to come to church but only managed to get 1 to come with us, a young man named Paulo (he’s an eleito). The miracle came when we arrived at the church. We had investigators waiting for us there. Emanuel, that I talked about last week and another family that we started teaching this week. It was such a relief. During church the elders interviewed Paulo and it turns out that he was ready to be baptized! It was his first Sunday! I’m always impressed with people like him. So later in the afternoon we had his baptism. It was amazing. I am so grateful for a loving Heavenly Father that answers my prayers. We really are being blessed by the Lord. This last week was the first time in the mission where a whole zone managed to reach the standard of excellence. It was truly a miracle.

Love you all!

Sister Lawrence

Leave a Reply

