November 10, 2014 (week 61)

Rusenglê, Alerrandro, me and sister Nóbrega

Rusenglê, Alerrandro, me and sister Nóbrega

​Sister Porter and Maedson

​Sister Porter and Maedson

Sister in Abolição in front of the church (its a house)

Sister in Abolição in front of the church (its a house)

​me and my companion!

​me and my companion!

Ola!

Again I had a really great week. We are truly being blessed right now. It’s amazing how much the Lord is helping us do His work here. Everyday we are finding more and more people ready to hear the gospel. For example the other day we were in a taxi heading to District meeting when the taxi driver started listening to the evangelic radio. Sister Porter and I started talking about the gospel just between the 2 of us but loud enough that he could hear. At first it just started more as a joke but as we were leaving the taxi he asked if the church had a program for children. We ended up taking his address and visiting him the other day but we when we passed by his house he wasn’t home. Saturday we tried again and the whole family was home so we invited them to come to church. And they went!! The had to leave early but said that they definitely would go again next week. We are going to teach them tonight. I’m really excited to see how it goes!

Another miracle that happened this week was our baptism, Maedson. He is a man weve been working with for the past few weeks. I don’t know if I already talked about him or not. He had a problem with smoking. We tried a lot of different things to help me but nothing seemed to be working. He always smoked at least 1 or 2 cigaretes every day. Finally this last week he stopped smoking. We asked him what was different this week and he told us that he was reading the Book of Mormon when he had a desire to smoke. A few days ago he didn’t ready the BoM and he ended up smoking a cigarete. After he told us that he read the BoM everyday because he knew now that it was powerful and helping him stop smoking. What a miracle! I love the Book of Mormon!!

So I’ve started running every morning in the park. It really has been great. Normally my companion just walks or does other exercises but this week Sister Porter said she’d run with me. As we were running I asked her a question. She turned to me to respond but tripped. It took her a while to try and recover herself but in the end she just ended up eating dirt. It was really really funny because to me it all went in slow motion. Also there were people on the other side of the road watching everything. I think we both ended up laughing for the next 15 mins. You had to be there but it was extremely funny. I think mostly because this is a serious risk for missionaries. We pass our whole day walking so we ended tripping quite a bit but usually we dont make it all the way to the ground. This week has been full of funny happy moments.

I LOVE BEING A MISSIONARY!! I love the Lord!!!

Love you all,

Sister Lawrence

PS Heidi, I already forgot English so youll have to teach me again when I get home 🙂

Leave a Reply

